About cord blood banks

More than 400 umbilical cord blood banks function around the world
Umbilical cord blood banks are divided into private and public
More than 70% of the stored deposits are private (they can be used by owners only)
More than 4 000 000 umbilical cord blood deposits are stored around the world
About 50 biobanks allow storing umbilical cord blood – source of mesenchymal stem cells
At 20 000$ starts the cost of one umbilical cord blood unit from the public bank
Umbilical cord blood is stored in liquid nitrogen at the temperature of -196 °C

About cord blood banking

The world`s first umbilical cord blood bank was established over 20 years ago – in 1992. Exactly at that time professor David Harriss determined to preserve his own son`s umbilical cord blood that laid the foundation of personalised umbilical cord blood banking.

What kinds of umbilical cord blood banks exist?

There are more than 400 umbilical cord blood banks in the world today. Most of them are private cord blood banks that provide personalised cord blood banking. Expectant family can preserve their child`s cord blood during birth for further placement in the private bank`s cryostorage. In case anyone in the family gets ill, their umbilical cord blood deposit can easily be discarded from the bank to be used for stem cell therapy.

The second type of cord blood banks is public. They allow to store donated umbilical cord blood samples so that the deposits can be used by any person in need of treatment around the globe – on condition that the sample is a match with the patient otherwise as well as in organ transplantation immunologically mismatched stem cells will be rejected by the recipient`s organism. The cost of the donor umbilical cord blood unit starts at 20000$ each. The same amount of money will be required to find any donor umbilical cord blood unit and test this sample for a match.

Public cord blood banks are open and working successfully in the US, Canada, Germany, Spain, Croatia, Japan, China, South Korea and others. There is no such public bank in Ukraine however, our family cord blood bank HEMAFUND allows You to bank your child`s umbilical cord blood just in case.

How are stem cells stored?

The stem cell banking has become possible owing to the discovery of long-time biomaterial preservation in liquid nitrogen. Low temperature regime (-196 °С is temperature of liquid nitrogen) has proved to effectively maintain umbilical cord blood without loss of stem cells quality and quantity. This data is supported by years of successful umbilical cord blood preservation both in the world and in Ukraine with HEMAFUND (founded in 2005).

Umbilical cord blood banking legislation

Umbilical cord blood banking legislation differs from country to country. For example in the USA umbilical cord blood banks` practice is strictly controlled by FDA (organisation that is also involved in medicine and food control). In addition, cord blood banks in states New-York, New-Jersey and California require additional accreditation to practice legally. Biobank, that doesn`t have such an accreditation, has no right to function at all.

In the EU cord blood banks are coordinated and controlled by international organisation Netcord supported by European Parliament. Netcord both controls the activities of biobanks, and propagates umbilical cord blood banking among people.

Ukrainian legislation requires umbilical cord blood banks to satisfy license conditions developed by The Ministry of Health Care of Ukraine. Subject to this satisfaction, the biobank is granted permission for licensed activities such as cells and tissue preservation. HEMAFUND stands highest Ukrainian standards.

Stem cells and religion

Umbilical cord blood preservation and research is widely supported among Red Cross, Orthodox and Catholic Churches and Hebrew Community. Orthodox Church has already had an official statement released on their official website in 2005 – supporting adult stem cells (umbilical cord blood stem cells belong to this type of cells) research and admitting stem cells` great potential in curing disease. At the same time, Vatican donates millions of euro to different companies engaged in stem cell therapy development.

О банках пуповинной крови

В мире работают более 400 банков пуповинной крови
Банки пуповинной крови бывают донорскими и частными
Более 70% сохранённых депозитов - частные (могут быть использованы только их владельцами)
Сохранено более 4 000 000 депозитов пуповинной крови
Около 50 биобанков предлагают хранение пуповины как источника мезенхимальных стволовых клеток
От $20 000 - стоимость одного депозита пуповинной крови в донорском банке
Хранение пуповинной крови осуществляется в жидком азоте, естественная температура которого составляет - 196 С

Первый банк пуповинной крови был создан более 20 лет назад – в 1992 году. Именно тогда профессор Дэвид Харрисс сохранил пуповинную кровь своего сына, дав начало персонализированному хранению пуповинную крови.

Какие бывают банки пуповинной крови?

Сегодня в мире работают более 400 банков пуповинной крови. Большинство из них – частные банки пуповинной крови, они предоставляют услугу персонализированного хранения пуповинной крови. Семья, ожидающая рождения ребёнка, может сохранить пуповинную кровь малыша во время рождения в одном из таких биобанков. А если понадобится лечение кому-то из членов семьи – изъять свой биодепозит и использовать в качестве терапии.

Второй тип банков пуповинной крови – государственные (публичные). Они хранят депозиты пуповинной крови, которые пожертвовали во время рождения ребёнка родители. Такими депозитами может воспользоваться любой человек в мире, который нуждается в лечении и которому подходит пуповинная кровь (как и при пересадке органа, при трансплантации пуповинной крови требуется иммунологическая совместимость донора (в данном случае пуповинной крови) и пациента, иначе произойдёт отторжение донорских стволовых клеток в организме пациента). Стоимость донорского депозита пуповинной крови – от $20 000.  Столько же семье пациента понадобится для поиска донорской пуповинной крови и определения совместимости стволовых клеток.

Государственные банки пуповинной крови созданы и успешно работают в таких странах, как США, Канада, Германия, Испания, Хорватия, Япония, Китай, Южная Корея и пр. В Украине не существует государственного банка пуповинной крови, однако работает частный Семейный банк пуповинной крови ГЕМАФОНД, где можно хранить пуповинную кровь ребёнка до потребности.

Как хранятся стволовые клетки?

Возможность сохранения стволовых клеток пуповинной крови получена благодаря открытию учеными технологии длительного хранения биоматериала в жидком азоте. Доказано, что в условиях температурного режима -196 °С (это естественная постоянная температура жидкого азота) пуповинную кровь можно хранить бесконечно долго без потери её биологических свойств. Это подтверждается и мировым опытом криохранения пуповинной крови, который составляет уже более 23 лет, и опытом хранения стволовых клеток украинского банка пуповинной крови ГЕМАФОНД, который работает с 2005 года.

Законна ли деятельность банков пуповинной крови?

Правовое регулирование банков пуповинной крови различается в зависимости от страны, а, например, в случае с США, оно отличается даже в разных штатах. В Америке работу как частных, так и государственных банков пуповинной крови контролирует Food and Drug Administration – организация по контролю за качеством пищевой продукцией и медикаментов. А в штатах Нью-Йорк, Нью-Джерси и Калифорнии банку пуповинной крови необходима дополнительная аккредитация. Неаккредитованный биобанк не имеет права осуществляет деятельность.

В Евросоюзе координацией работы банков пуповинной крови занимается международная организация Netcord, созданная при поддержке Европарламента. Netcord не только контролирует работу банков пуповинной крови, а и пропагандирует среди населения важность сохранения пуповинной крови.

Для работы в Украине банку пуповинной крови необходимо соответствовать лицензионным условиям, разработанным Министерством здравоохранения Украины. На основании соответствия лицензионным условиям биобанку выдаётся лицензия на деятельность банков пуповинной крови, других тканей и клеток человека. Такая лицензия была выдана и украинскому банку пуповинной крови ГЕМАФОНД.

Стволовые клетки и религия

Хранение и изучение пуповинной крови поддерживаются благотворительной организацией Красный крест, Православной и Католической церквями, а также Иудейской религиозной общиной. Православная церковь на своем официальном сайте еще в 2005 году опубликовала заявление, в котором поддержала изучение стволовых клеток взрослых (к этому типу стволовых клеток относятся стволовые клетки пуповинной крови и  пуповины) и признала большую перспективу их использования в лечении различных заболеваний. А Ватикан выделяет миллионы евро различным компаниям для исследований методов лечения на основе стволовых клеток.