Why should bank cord blood?

Right after birth and umbilical cord being cut there is up to 150 ml of umbilical cord blood left in it. Rich in stem cells umbilical cord blood represents extremely valuable source for treating a wide range of conditions. While years ago umbilical cord blood used to be discarded as medical waste with the rest of afterbirth, nowadays both doctors and scientists invoke for storing cord blood so that any family had their own stock of stem cells for treating children and closest relatives.

So what are the stem cells? Stem cells are immature cells capable of differentiating into cells of different genesis. During embryogenesis stem cells transform into cells of different tissues thus forming bones, heart, lungs and all the other organs. Adult organism contains the same type of cells on every life stage. However the organism`s own stem cell quantity and quality are constantly decreasing due to infectious diseases, injures and other adverse environmental factors.

Stem cells are divided into several dozens of types based on their properties and origin. On the whole all the stem cells can be divided into two types – adult and embryonal. The usage of latter is restricted due to medical ethic issues, religious tenets and unpredictable consequences of differentiation.  Meanwhile umbilical cord blood stem cells are attributed to adult stem cells that are widely used and researched throughout the world owing to their safety and morally acceptable collection process.

Umbilical cord blood contains mostly hematopoietic stem cells. Those cells are capable of differentiating into blood and immune stem cells. These cells are widely used for treating different hematological conditions (malignancies such as leukemia, anemia etc), immune system diseases and neurological conditions.

Apart from umbilical cord blood, bone marrow also contains hematopoietic stem cells. But umbilical cord blood has many more advantages that are especially important to the medical treatment.

Umbilical cord blood
Hematopoietic stem cells
Capable of differentiating into blood and immune cells
Used for treating more than 100 conditions for instance blood malignancies,
immune system, neurological and auto-immune diseases
First administrated as treatment in 1988
(Fankoni`s anemia). Patient is still alive, happily married with two children
Material stored at HEMAFUND:
umbilical cord blood leukocyte fraction
Can be used for treatment right after being discarded from the biobank
Number of the umbilical cord blood stem cells research in the world:
over 900

Advantages of umbilical cord blood stem cells banking

  1. Activity

    Umbilical cord blood stem cells are banked right after child`s birth that prevents them from negative environmental and senescence impact. That makes this type of stem cells more active and highly capeble of proliferation and differentiation.

  2. Safety

    Umbilical cord blood collecting is absolutely simple, painless and safe procedure both for mother and her child. It is conducted in accordance with Ukraine`s Ministry Of Health Care decree №481 dated from 10.07.2014. At the same time bone marrow obtaining requires a two-hour operation with general anesthesia that is as dangerous for health and life as any other serious surgical intervention.

  3. Match

    Child`s own umbilical cord blood stem cells are 100% match for them and 25% probable match for their siblings and closest relatives. At the same time chance of finding right allogenic umbilical cord blood or bone marrow donor ranges between 1:1000 and 1:1000000.

  4. Availability

    Person`s own umbilical cord blood processing for treatment takes several hours while search for matching donor can last for months and even years.

  5. Affordability

    Umbilical cord blood banking costs ten times less than bone marrow or umbilical cord blood donor search.

Зачем сохранять пуповинную кровь?

После рождения ребенка и пересечения пуповины в ней остаётся, как правило, до 150 мл пуповинной крови. Именно пуповинная кровь, благодаря наличию в ней стволовых клеток, является ценнейшим материалом для лечения множества заболеваний. И если раньше пуповинную кровь утилизировали сразу после родов, сегодня врачи и ученые призывают её сохранять, чтобы семьи имели собственный запас уникального лечебного материала для ребёнка и ближайших родственников.

Что же такое стволовые клетки? Это незрелые клетки, способные превращаться в клетки различных тканей организма. В процессе внутриутробного развития ребенка стволовые клетки превращаются в клетки органов и тканей, создавая кости, сердце, печень, легкие и пр. Эти же клетки содержатся в организме человека на всех этапах его жизни. Однако со временем запас стволовых клеток и их качество уменьшаются в борьбе с инфекциями, травмами и негативным воздействием окружающей среды.

Существует несколько десятков видов стволовых клеток, которые разнятся своими свойствами и источником получения. В целом их можно разделить на стволовые клетки взрослого организма и эмбриональные. Вопрос использования последних до сих пор остается открытым, так как их получение – процедура, настораживающая с точки зрения медицинской этики и запрещенная с точки зрения религии, а последствия дифференциации – непредсказуемые. А стволовые клетки пуповинной крови относятся к стволовым клеткам взрослого организма, которые широко исследуются и используются во всем мире благодаря безопасности и этичности их получения.

Пуповинная кровь содержит преимущественно гемопоэтические стволовые клетки. Эти стволовые клетки способны превращаться в клетки крови и иммунной системы. Они используются в лечении заболеваний крови (лейкемии, анемии и пр.), иммунной системы, а также при неврологических болезнях.

Помимо пуповинной крови, эти же клетки содержаться в костном мозге. Однако пуповинная кровь имеет ряд преимуществ, которые особо важны, в случае необходимости лечения. 

Пуповинная кровь
Гемопоэтические стволовые клетки
Способны превращаться в клетки крови и иммунной системы
Используются в лечении более 100 заболеваний,
в том числе заболеваний крови (злокачественных), иммунной системы, неврологических, аутоиммунных и пр.
Впервые применены в лечении в 1988 г.
(диагноз – анемия Фанкони). Пациент по сегодняшний день жив, он женат, у него есть дети
Материал, сохраняемый в «ГЕМАФОНДе»:
лейкоцитарная фракция пуповинной крови
Можно применять в лечении сразу после изъятия из биобанка
Количество исследований с использованием этих стволовых клеток: 
более 900

Преимущества сохранения собственных стволовых клеток пуповинной крови

  1. Активность

    Стволовые клетки собственной пуповинной крови, сохраненные при рождении ребенка, еще не подвержены негативному влиянию окружающей среда и жизнедеятельности, в отличие от стволовых клеток донора. Благодаря этому они более активны и обладают более высокой способностью делиться и превращаться в нужные организму клетки.

  2. Безопасность

    Сбор пуповинной крови – абсолютно простая, безболезненная и безопасная процедура как для матери, так и для ребенка, которая осуществляется согласно приказу Министерства здравоохранения Украины №481 от 10.07 2014 г. В то же время для получения костного мозга требуется двухчасовая операция под общим наркозом, которая, как и все операции, всегда сопровождается рисками для здоровья и жизни.

  3. Совместимость

    Собственные стволовые клетки пуповинной крови на 100% подходят ребёнку и с 25%-й вероятностью – его ближайшим родственникам. А вероятность того, что будет найден совместимые донорские стволовые клетки костного мозга или пуповинной крови, составляет всего лишь от 1:1000 до 1: 1000 000.

  4. Доступность

    Подготовка собственной пуповинной крови к лечению отнимает несколько часов, тогда как поиск донорского образца длится месяцы, а порой и годы.

  5. Экономичность

    Стоимость хранения собственной пуповинной крови в течение всей жизни в десятки раз меньше стоимости донорского костного мозга или пуповинной крови.