Why should bank umbilical cord tissue stem cells?

Umbilical cord tissue as well as umbilical cord blood represents valuable source of adult stem cells. Contrary to the umbilical cord blood containing hematopoietic  stem cells, umbilical cord tissue comprises another type of stem cells – mesenchymal stem cells. This kind of stem cells differs greatly in both its properties and a variety of conditions MSC can be used treating for.

For instance mesenchymal stem cells are able of differentiating into cells of different organs and tissues: skin cells, hepatocytes,  heart cells etc (while hematopoietic stem cells are able to transform into immune and blood cells). Owing to this property umbilical cord stem cells are widely researched in regenerative medicine and used for treating burns, injures, Cron`s   disease, cirrhosis, heart attacks etc. Umbilical cord stem cells are used for organ reconstruction as they replace damaged and necrotized organtissue cells.

Another property of mesenchymal stem cells is their ability to strengthen  body`s own immune system that led scientists towards research of MSC in treatment for different conditions such as diabetes. Moreover, mesenchymal stem cells represent perfect source of stem cells for bioengineering.  First steps towards creating and transplanting new organs made of stem cells have already been made. Trachea, nose, heart valves, skin and bones have been successfully recreated and transplanted to first patients.

Regenerative potential of mesenchymal stem cells is actually so big, that the total number of researches and clinical trials using this type of cells in regenerative medicine has grown twice in 2014.

Not also umbilical cord tissue contains mesenchymal stem cells but also adult bone marrow and fat tissue. However umbilical cord stem cells have a range of advantages over  other cell resources.

Umbilical cord tissue
Mesenchymal stem cells
Capable of differentiating into tissue and organ cells
Burns, injures treatment; organ reconstruction
(after heart attack, liver cirrhosis etc.); auto-immune diseases treatment; bioengineering material
Material stored at HEMAFUND:
intact umbilical cord fragment, processed tissue and blood vessels
New source of stem cells both in Ukraine and the whole world.
Can be used after cultivation
Number of the umbilical cord stem cells research:
over 100.

Advantages of umbilical cord tissue as the mesenchymal stem cells resource:

  1. Activity

    Umbilical cord tissue stem cells are young and active in comparison with stem cells from other sources, which means they are more effective in treatment.

  2. Safety

    Umbilical cord tissue collecting is safe and simple process that takes place right after birth – on umbilical cord being cut and cord blood being collected. Stem cells extraction does not involve any surgical intervention and risk-free for donor`s health and life.

  3. Opportunity of application for relatives

    Opposite to umbilical cord blood stem cells, umbilical cord stem cells lack the factors responsible for immune rejection thus they will more likely match all the family members.

  4. Opportunity of cord blood expansion

    In case of treatment using large amounts of haematopoietic stem cells of umbilical cord blood, umbilical cord stem cells can be used as the feeding layer that contributes greatly in hematopoietic stem cells expansion.

  5. More opportunities

    HEMAFUND allows storing three umbilical cord components: intact umbilical cord fragment (for maximum mesenchymal stem cells extraction in the future), umbilical cord blood vessels containing endothelial progenitors (for medical treatment involving blood vessels reconstruction); processed umbilical cord tissue sample ready for fast stem cell extraction and cultivating in case of emergency.

This biomaterial is under study in all biobanks of the world where cord tissue is stored. The results of therapeutic potential of umbilical cord tissue stem cells research is published in the prestigious international journal "Stem Cells International". Co-authors of the study are Olga Maslova, deputy director of the Family cord blood bank Hemafund, Miroslav Novak and Peter Kruzliak from International Clinical Research Center, St. Anne’s University Hospital and Masaryk University, Pekarska 53, 656 91 Brno, Czech Republic - http://www.hindawi.com/journals/sci/2015/150609/

Зачем сохранять стволовые клетки пуповины?

Ткань пуповины, как и пуповинная кровь, – ценнейший источник стволовых клеток. В отличие от пуповинной крови, содержащей гемопоэтические стволовые клетки, из ткани пуповины возможно выделение другого типа стволовых клеток – мезенхимальных. Гемопоэтические и мезенхимальные стволовые клетки отличаются своими свойствами и заболеваниями, при лечении которых могут использоваться.

Так, мезенхимальные стволовые клетки пуповины способны превращаться в клетки органов и тканей: в клетки кожи, печени, сердца и пр. (стволовые клетки пуповинной крови - в клетки крови и имунной системы). Благодаря своим свойствам стволовые клетки пуповины широко изучаются в регенеративной медицине – используются при ожогах, травмах, при лечении болезни Крона, цирроза печени, последствий инфаркта и пр. Превращаясь в клетки органа, который нуждается в восстановлении, стволовые клетки пуповины замещают его заболевшие или умершие клетки на новые, здоровые.

Ещё одно свойство мезенхимальных стволовых клеток пуповины – способность улучшать состояние иммунной системы, что также подтолкнуло учёных изучать их использование при таких заболеваниях, как диабет. Более того, мезенхимальные стволовые клетки – источник материала для биоинженерии. Сегодня делаются первые шаги в выращивании органов и пересадке их пациентам. Уже успешно выращены такие органы, как трахея, нос, клапаны сердца, кожа, кости и пр. и успешно пересажены пациентам.

В целом потенциал использования мезенхимальных стволовых клеток настолько велик, что в течение 2014 года количество исследований по использованию этих клеток в регенеративной медицине увеличилось в дважды. 

Эти стволовые клетки содержатся не только в пуповине, а и в костном мозге и жировой ткани взрослого человека. Однако стволовые клетки пуповины имеют преимущества, по сравнению с другими источниками. 

Пуповина
Мезенхимальные стволовые клетки
Способны превращаться в клетки тканей и органов
Лечение ран, ожогов, травм; восстановление органов
(после инфаркта, при циррозе печени и пр.), лечение аутоиммунных заболеваний; источник материала для бионженерии
Сохраняемый материал в ГЕМАФОНДе:
часть цельной пуповины, очищенная ткань и сосуды
Новый источник стволовых клеток как в мире, так и в Украине
Можно применять в лечении после культивирования стволовых клеток до необходимого количества
Количество исследований с использованием этих стволовых клеток:
более 100

Преимущества пуповины как источника мезенхимальных стволовых клеток

  1. Активность

    Стволовые клетки, выделенные из пуповины, молоды и активны, по сравнению со стволовыми клетками из других источников, а значит – более результативны в лечении.

  2. Безопасность

    Забор пуповины – безопасный и простой процесс, осуществляемый после рождения ребёнка, пересечения пуповины и сбора пуповинной крови. Выделение стволовых клеток из пуповины не требует оперативного вмешательства и не сопряжено с рисками для здоровья и жизни донора.

  3. Возможность лечения родственников

    Стволовые клетки пуповины лишены факторов, отвечающих за иммунное отторжение, поэтому они с бОльшей вероятностью, чем пуповинная кровь, подойдут для лечения других членов семьи.

  4. Возможность увеличить образец пуповинной крови

    При необходимости лечения большим количеством гемопоэтических стволовых клеток пуповинной крови клетки пуповины могут использоваться в качестве питательного слоя, который способствует росту количества клеток крови.

  5. Больше возможностей

    ГЕМАФОНД сохраняет три компонента пуповины: часть цельной пуповины, чтобы в будущем с развитием технологий иметь возможность получить самое большое количество мезенхимальных стволовых клеток; сосуды пуповины, из которых возможно получения эндотелиальных клеток для лечения заболеваний, требующих восстановления сосудов; подготовленную к культивированию соединительную ткань пуповины для быстрого получения мезенхимальных клеток, если возникнет необходимость лечения.

На сегодняшний день этот биоматериал находится на стадии изучения во всех биобанках мира, которые осуществляют его криохранение. Результаты исследований по терапевтическому потенциалу стволовых клеток пуповины опубликованы в авторитетном международном журнале "Stem Cells International". Соавторами исследования выступили Ольга Маслова, канд. биол. наук, заместитель генерального директора Семейного банка пуповинной крови ГЕМАФОНД, а также Мирослав Новак и Петер Крузляк из Международного клиническо-исследовательского центра, Госпиталя при Университете св. Анны (Брно, Чехия) - http://www.hindawi.com/journals/sci/2015/150609/